Broken records

Sometimes I look at the  “This is Fine” and think about how many times I find myself in the same situation.  That dog is me, hot coffee and everything.  I sit there, I can feel the house burning, but I stay sitting there.  All bug eyed. Affirming that I am O-K. Fine. Obviously the dog is not fine.05onfire1_xp-facebookJumbo

And neither am I in most situations. Most recently, my parents were arguing about something minor. Most times, I sit through their arguing and disassociate myself from the situation. I space out. I distract myself by browsing the web. My head begins to hurt when the doors start slamming. But I still sit there.

Every day as a self challenge, I’m gonna react more quickly to not letting myself just be in uncomfortable and abusive situations. It’s a real struggle to get up and walk away but I have to. I think the first step is acting on my self awareness of how I’m feeling in any given situation. Usually my body gives me a sign that its either time to fight or fly the fuck out the there. The next step is to get up and leave, and take care of my needs first.

 

Leave a Reply

